At the 12th ISSFAL Congress held in Stellenbosch, South Africa in 2016, ISSFAL announced a new classification of esteemed ISSFAL member entitled the ISSFAL Fellow.   Fellows shall have achieved distinction in scientific contributions to fatty acid and lipid science, and shall have provided sustained, positive contributions to the ISSFAL organization.

Please visit our YouTube Channel to view the presentation of the inaugural class of ISSFAL Fellows.

Class of 2016
Dr. Gene Anderson
Dr. Michael Crawford
Dr. Steven Cunnane
Dr. Jorn Dyerberg
Dr. Claudio Galli
Dr. Bob Gibson
Dr. Sheila Innis
Dr. Michel Lagarde
Dr. William Lands
Dr. Artemis Simopolous
Dr. Andy Sinclair
Dr. Arthur Spector

Class of 2018
Dr. Nicolas Bazan
Dr. Philip Calder
Dr. Susan Carlson
Dr. Bruce Holub
Dr. Berthold Koletzko
Dr. Norman Salem


Class of 2021
Dr. Hee Yong Kim
Dr. Joe Hibbeln
Dr. Tom Brenna


Nominations for Fellows can be from any member either directly to the Chair of the Awards Committee or to the Secretary of the Society, or are generated by the ISSFAL Awards Committee. The Chair of the Awards Committee then puts forward a proposed list of names to the ISSFAL Executive to approve. The Chair of the Awards Committee is the ISSFAL Immediate Past President.